Chapter History

National : For more information, visit our national website at

Regional : For more information, visit the Farwest Region’s Website at

The Chartering

Pasadena Alumnae Chapter was chartered on January 27, 1961, by Ellen T. Law, Regional Director and Jeanne Noble, National President, in the home of Soror Gervaise Moore in Pasadena, California. This prestigious event included the assistance of Sorors Geraldine Wood, National First-Vice President and Jeralean Snead, President of the Los Angeles Alumnae Chapter.


Charter Members

Pasadena Alumnae Chapter charter members include: Florence Anderson, Muriel Harris Broussard, Alice Beatrice Bugg, Anita Cole, Margaret L. Cook Fosler, Flossie Jacques Duncan, June Dunn, Joan Pierson Green, Gloria Hines, Corine F. Jackson, CeEtta Medlock, Gervaise Jones Moore, Olga Moore, Lois Banks Richard, Joyce A. Ewing Streater, Mary Jane Clark Strong, Edith C. Price Taylor, Jean Arthur Mills and Ethel L. White.

Contributions to the Pasadena Community

Over the past forty years Pasadena Alumnae contributed over $100,000 to the Pasadena Community. Recent events include:

  • 2000: Jackie Robinson Center and Healthy Babies Alliance of Greater Pasadena
  • 2001: Jackie Robinson Park; Pasadena Neighborhood Housing; YWCA and Pasadena Senior Center
  • 2002: City of Pasadena Northwest Commission; Jackie Robinson Park; Community Health Alliance of Pasadena, Pasadena City College Library Foundation Black Heritage Room

Pasadena Alumnae Chapter Highlights

Two of Pasadena Alumnae Chapter members served as Directors of the Farwest Region: Mabel Martin from 1941 to 1943, and Dr. Gwendolyn Sherard-Bishop from 1984 to 1989, whose  term was extended to accommodate the Delta Sigma Theta 75th anniversary in 1988.

Pixie Boyden, 2016-2018 Chapter President was selected to the first inaugural class of Delta Fellows of the 22….one of the two selected from the Farwest Region.

In addition, Pasadena Alumnae accomplished the following:

  • Awarded over $380,000 of Academic Awards
  • Established the African American Heritage Room at the Pasadena City College Walter Shatford Library
  • Regional Director Dr. Gwendolyn Sherard-Bishop inaugurated “Delta Days at the State Capitol”
  • Established the Pasadena Delta Foundation in 1994
  • First Delta Chapter to create an endowed fund
  • Annual Awards Debutante Cotillion for 43 years
  • Annual Holiday Boutique for 38 years
  • Annual Theatre Party Productions
  • Young African American Women’s Conference

Chapter Officers

PresidentTyAnne Evans
1st Vice President
Pixie Boyden
2nd Vice President
Vernetta Griffin
Recording Secretary
Taylore Welcdon-Countee
Corresponding Secretary
Kim Calvert-Johnson
Financial Secretary
Melinda Campbell
Assistant Financial SecretaryDenise Jones
TreasurerRetha DeJonette



HistorianLynnette West Cater
Rochelle Howard Watson
ChaplainMichele Bagneris
Internal Audit ChairAllison Steppes



Nominating Committee Chair    Juanita West-Tillman
Nominating Committee MemberCarlette Thompson
Nominating Committee MemberRayne Stewart
Nominating Committee Member
Esther Watkins
Nominating Committee MemberMarcia Williams
Risk Management Coordinator*
Cheryl Moody




Subscribe to Our Newsletter


Forgotten Password?